Sweet & Sour Chicken :: Recipe

I make a lot of chicken and rice recipes. They are so quick and easy, and they usually taste delicious. Last night I tried a new recipe I found in Clean Eating Magazine for Sweet & Sour Chicken. The recipe was super easy, and I thought it was light and delicious! DH thought it could have used more sauce, but I explained it probably wouldn’t be so healthy if the sauce was heavier. If you want a heavier sauce, I would suggest doubling the sauce ingredients.

Sweet & Sour Chicken with Brown Rice

I made two mods to the recipe. I didn’t plan ahead, so I didn’t have time to marinate the chicken for 30 minutes. It probably would taste better marinated, but I thought it still came out great. Also, I’m not a huge pineapple fan, so I left those out.

You can view the recipe here. Here is the recipe with my mods.

INGREDIENTS:

  • 1/3 cup low-sodium soy sauce
  • 2 tbsp raw honey
  • 2 cloves garlic, minced
  • 1 tsp fresh ginger, grated
  • 1/4 tsp crushed red pepper flakes
  • 1 1/4 lb boneless, skinless chicken breasts (about 4 breasts), chopped into 1-inch pieces
  • 1 tbsp of olive oil
  • 1 medium red bell pepper, cut into 1-inch chunks (about 1 cup)
  • 1 medium green bell pepper, cut into 1-inch chunks (about 1 cup)
  • 1 small yellow onion, chopped (about 3/4 cup)
  • 1/2 fresh pineapple, cut into 1-inch cubes (about 1 3/4 cups)
  • 12 sprigs fresh cilantro, chopped (about 1/4 cup)
  • 1 1/2 cups cooked brown rice

INSTRUCTIONS:

  1. Cook brown rice according to package instructions.
  2. In a small bowl, whisk together soy sauce, honey, garlic, ginger and pepper flakes. Place chicken in a large shallow dish. Pour soy sauce mixture over chicken, tossing gently.
  3. Heat a large nonstick skillet over medium-high heat. Add 1 tbsp of olive oil. Add chicken and marinade and sauté for 5 minutes or until chicken is cooked through. Add bell peppers and onion and cook for 5 minutes or until vegetables are slightly tender. Sprinkle with cilantro and serve immediately over rice for a complete meal, if desired.
One thought on “Sweet & Sour Chicken :: Recipe

Leave a Reply

