Golden Northern Loop Cowl

I fell in love with the color and drape of the Northern Loop by tante ehm when I saw it on Ravelry.

Golden Northern Cowl

After many starts and re-starts, trying out different yarns I had in my stash with different size needles, I finally finished my version of the Northern Loop. I only had enough yarn to do a one-loop cowl, not the double that I fell in love with.

I used size 17 needles with some Loops & Threads Cozy Wool I had in my stash. The pattern called for size 10.5 needles, so the ribbing on my version isn’t as noticeable, but I like the bulky look it gave the cowl and I think it will be great with my winter coat.

Golden Northern Loop Cowl

This was a super easy pattern to memorize, but it did start to get a little boring. I love the finished look though, so I will try this again with a smaller needle and worseted weight yarn and use this as a break in-between harder projects.

Golden Northern Loop Cowl

To adjust for the larger needle size, I did make some mods. Here’s the pattern with my mods. You can download the original pattern for free on Ravelry.com.

Materials
Needles: Size 17
Yarn: Super Bulky, 120 yards

Directions
Provisionally cast on 26 sts
Row 1 : K6, ssk, yo, k1, yo, k2tog, k4, ssk, yo, k1, yo, k2tog, k6
Row 2: K6, p5, k4, p5, k6
Repeat until you reach desired length. Graft live stitches. Weave in ends.

2 thoughts on “Golden Northern Loop Cowl

Leave a Reply

