Handmade by :: The Indigo Forest

Group of gnomes

I first saw the creations at The Indigo Forest a few days ago and I was blown away. Not only are all of the pieces beautifully handmade by Kellie, the shop owner, but there is a variety of different mediums and styles. Below she answers a few questions about herself and her shop.

1. Give me a little background about you.

My name is Kellie and I’m the creative force behind The Indigo Forest. I live in central North Carolina with my family and love all of the beauty this part of the country has to offer.

I’m a mama to two wonderfully mischievous boys and I have a little one on the way. When I’m not chasing my little ones around, you’ll usually find me crafting.

2. How did your Etsy shop, The Indigo Forest, get started?

I started my Etsy shop at the encouragement of my mother. It was something that I always wanted to do, but was a little hesitant at first. I knew nothing about keeping up with a shop, but I’m so glad that I pursued my dream. I have learned so much and have met so many wonderful, talented artisans through Etsy.

3. Is Etsy your full-time job?

Well, being a mama is my full-time job. The Indigo Forest is more of my creative outlet. Don’t get me wrong though, it is a job. I am just lucky enough that I don’t have to get up early and leave every morning!

Patch

4. What do you enjoy most about creating handmade pieces?

Hmm…Everything! I love the whole process of starting with nothing and creating something truly unique that will bring people joy. It is amazing every time I finish something to go “I did that, I made that with my own two hands.” Being able to take an idea, something you see in your mind and to make it appear in front of you is always exciting.

5. I love your gnomes! How did you come up with the Waldorf toys?

Thank you! I was inspired by the many other Waldorf artisans out there to start creating my own pieces. I loved working with natural materials to begin with and with myself having small children, it seemed like a natural place to venture into.


6. You have a variety of items in your shop. Is there a particular medium you prefer to work with?

Like I said above, I love working with natural materials. Wood, wool, cotton, etc.. If I had to pick a favorite medium, I guess I would have to say wool, in all forms. The feel and the smell of it is soothing to me.

7. How would your describe your creative process?

I wouldn’t really say I have a “process”. An idea will just pop into my head and when that happens I usually write it down or I have to begin creating it as soon as possible. I try to just go with the “creative” flow.

8. Do you have any creative goals for the next few years?

Well, I would still love to be creating and selling in the future. As far as actual goals go, I don’t really have any. I find it best to just see where life will take you.

9. What do you do outside of Etsy? 

Outside of my shop and taking care of my children, I love to cook! I have a passion for whole, real foods. Making food from scratch and being able to share it with people always makes me happy.

3 thoughts on “Handmade by :: The Indigo Forest

  1. Kellie is an awesome cook. She loves to bake too. She made a cake one time (I have forgotten the name of it) but it was the best!! cake I have ever tasted. It was beautiful too! She is so creative with cooking and with her crafts.

Leave a Reply

