Felted Bobble Hot Pad

I’ve never been interested in creating a felted knit piece, but after I found a pattern for a felted bobble hot pad on Ravelry and fell in love, I decided to give it a try. The free pattern is by DROPS design and is available on GarnerStudio.com.

Surprisingly, the hardest part for me was finding 100% wool yarn. The pattern called for bulky weight yarn, and I checked out two big box craft supply stores and had no luck. I’m sure I could have found it online or at an independent yarn store, but because I’ve never felted a project before, I didn’t want to spend a lot of money on yarn in case I created a giant mess. So I ended up holding two yarns of aran weight together.

Hot pad

My first two attempts at felting were disappointing. Another knitter suggested I check out this website for some felting tips. It seems the key is wash on low water setting to create a lot of agitation. My third and final attempt came out much better!

Hot pad

As my first felted project, I’m pretty happy with how it turned out. I’m planning to make this project again for some Christmas gifts. Next time, I’ll buy bulky weight yarn and make the finished piece square.

Pattern:Knitted and Felted Christmas Hot Pad by DROPS Design
Yarn: Stitch Nation Full O’ Sheep in cream
My Ravelry project: Felted Hot Pad

2 thoughts on “Felted Bobble Hot Pad

Leave a Reply

