Where the Heart Is

So full disclaimer, I did not come up with the idea for this design. I saw something similar at an art fair this summer and instantly thought “that’s so cool!” If you are not graphic design savvy and want to purchase something similar, you have many options available on Etsy.

This year is my parent’s 40th wedding anniversary, and I wanted to give them a personalized keepsake for this special occasion.  Since my parents have been married, they have moved 10 times. I thought a map marked with all of the places they have lived would be a wonderful reminder of their lives together.

I found a free map of the US in eps format on the US Air Force website. I used Adobe Illustrator to create the layout. The traditional gift for the 40th anniversary is the ruby, so I used a vivid red for the background.

Where the Heart Is Map

This is a really simple idea that makes a great gift! Honestly, I spent more time deciding on which shade of red to use then I did on the layout.

One thought on “Where the Heart Is

  1. Stopping in from the blogging team!

    This is really cool gift idea. My parents have lived many places as well, so I just might have to make one for their anniversary in September. I don’t have Illustrator, so hopefully I can figure out a way to make one without it.

    Jen
    ActsofCraftiness.blogspot.com
    ActsofCraftiness.etsy.com

Leave a Reply

