Baby Dino Sophisticate

I recently cast off on the super cute Baby Sophisticate cardigan. This was actually my second Baby Sophisticate as I frogged my first attempt. This sweater is part of a gift set that includes the Dino Cap I finished a while ago. My first attempt at this sweater was in green and orange to match the hat, but I just didn’t like the color combo in sweater form. I learned a lot of techniques with this project, and I am really happy with how it came out.

4

Some of my mods:

  • My gauge did not match the pattern, so I cast on an additional 10 stitches.
  • I slipped the first and last stitch knitwise on each RS row, and purled all stitches on the WS. I found that this gave my knitting a more consistent look with the slipped stitches. This method is known as the English Method. I learned about it here.
  • When I knit the cuffs on the sleeves, I used Kathryn Ivy’s method for knitting jogless garter stitch in the round. Super easy and gave a more professional look to the sleeves.
  • I used Jeny’s Super Stretchy Bind Off. Easy to learn and works great!

1

Rather than just assuming I knew how to do some knitting techniques, I decided to google everything to see if there was something I was missing. Here are the new techniques that I learned while knitting this project:

3

Pattern: Baby Sophisticate by Linden Down
Yarn: Berroco Vintage in Green and Lion Brand Wool-Ease in Gray Heather
My Ravelry project: Baby Dino Sophisticate

7 thoughts on “Baby Dino Sophisticate

  1. Pingback: Grey and Blue Baby Sophisticate | Beads & Brass

Leave a Reply

