Sailor’s Garter Yoke Cardi

I recently cast off on the very cute Garter Yoke Cardi. This is the second cardigan I’ve made for my little man, due in 5 weeks (!).

photo

This was my first project using the i-cord bindoff and I love it! I was hesitant to try it because the instructions included with this pattern were very confusing to me. I found some great videos online that showed me how to do the i-cord bindoff, and I modified the pattern a little bit to make it easier for me. My first i-cord band came out very tight and caused the button band to warp, so I ripped it out and tried again. The second time I used a larger needle and did one additional repeat of the unattached i-cord, and the results were much better!

photo-6

Some of my mods:

  • To shape the sleeves, I decreased with k2tog every one inch (3 times total).
  • For the i-cord button band, I knit to 3/4” per instructions. Then I marked where I wanted the button holes to be on, knit on the WS and cast off 2 stitches for each button hole. Then on the RS, I did the i-cord bindoff using a needle one size larger, making 3 unattached repeats for the button holes. I’m very happy with how it turned out!

photo-4

Pattern: Garter Yoke Baby Cardi by Jennifer Hoel
Yarn: Lion Brand Wool-Ease in Denim and Natural Heather
Buttons: Joann’s Fabrics
My Ravelry project:  Sailor’s Garter Yoke Cardi

photo-3

2 thoughts on “Sailor’s Garter Yoke Cardi

Leave a Reply

